Skip to Main Content

EndNote 2025

Direct export from databases

The best method to import references into an EndNote Library is the Save to + 'Import text file' option. This is available in every databases. 

Many databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference into your EndNote library. The necessary steps and terminology may differ with the database and also differs within different browsers. Some browsers, like Firefox doesn't support this option. In Google Chrome, downloads are saved to the download folder by default.

If direct export doesn't work use the option Importing text files from databases

General outline of the basic steps required by most databases:

  • Select the references you want to export using the tick boxes, Add to Folder or Mark Records option
  • Look for a way to export your selected references. This can be called: 'Export', 'Export to reference manager', 'Direct Export', 'Output'  or 'Save Citation'
  • If asked, choose an output method, for example the RIS format 
  • Click on: Save, Export, Download or Open
  • EndNote will open (you may need to select your library) and the references will appear in the temporary window
  • If not, click on the download file to import directly into EndNote

Step 1: Export references from PubMed

  • Click/select the titles you want to import
  • Click on the option Send to -> Citation Manager
  • If you want to import one page, select Default selection = All results on this page
  • If you want to import all results, click on the arrow to switch Selection into All results
  • Click on Create file

 

 

 

Step 2: Import PubMed references into EndNote

  • Go to EndNote
  • Go to Downloads on your computer
  • Click on the RIS-file from PubMed in Downloads
  • The records are now imported in Endnote
Importing results (up to 50 records per page):

If you wish to import no more than 50 records, please select the items and set the number of records per page up to 50. Then click on the icon:

 

Next, click on Export Citation, and then click on Export in RIS format.

 

 

 

 

Importing results in bulk (up to 25.000 records):

1. First, create a MyEBSCO account, or log in if you already have one.

2. Click the drop-down arrow at the top of the Result list and click the Export results (Up to 25.000) link. Choose RIS.

3. The results are emailed to you and you can import them in your Endnote file.

 

 

 

See Ebscohost: Exporting up to 25,000 Results on the New EBSCO User Interfaces

 

 

  • Click on 'All'  or mark you desired records
  • Click on Export
  • Choose RIS or Endnote as a RIS file
  • Click on the button Export

 

 

 

Note: The direct option doesn't work within every browser. If it doesn't work: use the 'importing text files from databases option'.

In Web of Science you can add references to a marked list before exporting or export without marking records or you can export all references (up to 1000 in one file).

1. Export Marked list 

  • Step 1: Select records: 'all records in this list' OR one of the other options
  • Step 2: Select all to include all information about the article, including Abstract
  • Step 3: Select destination: 'Save to EndNote desktop' from the drop-down menu
  • Step 4: Click on the the download file
  • EndNote should launch automatically. If not, choose the Open option if prompted.
  • Select a library and select Open. The references should now be displayed in the EndNote Library.
  • Note: if you haven't opened an EndNote library first, it will open the default library. You can change this procedure through preferences. Top bar > Edit > Preferences > Libraries. 

 

2. Export without marking records

- Perform a search
- Click on the button Export
- Choose RIS
- Choose either all records on page or a range of records (up to 1000)
- Choose the record content: 'Full record' 
- Click on the export File and the records and import starts in your opened library. 

Configure Google Scholar to send references to EndNote.

  • Go to the Google Scholar home page
  • Click on Settings (horizontal bar on the top left)
  • Under 'Bibliography Manager' select the option 'Show links to import citations into' and choose 'EndNote' in the drop down box
  • Click on the Save button

After performing a search on Google Scholar click on the 'Import into EndNote'-link for the reference you want to import. If you are presented with a window asking if you want to 'Open' or 'Save' the file, choose to open the file. In the next window: select the EndNote library you want to use. You can also click on " to export references. Chrome places export in downloads folder by default.

 

Google Books

Finding the link to referencing Google books is a bit hidden. 

Possible methods:

- Search for a book
- Select the title you wish to export
- Look at the Left hand side of the screen for a link 'more information' or 'about this book' and scroll down until you see an EndNote button
- If that link is absent, scroll all the way down until you see the EndNote button

 

 

EndNote Click is a free browser tool that helps you find the best PDF of a research article while you browse. It automatically looks through open databases and your university’s subscriptions (if available) to get the best version of the paper for you.

 

See: EndNote Click: What is EndNote Click and how do I use it?